What just happened?!

 The last few weeks have been quite the roller coaster. I’ve been struggling to write a post because by the time I would proof read what I wrote, I no longer felt or connected with what I wrote about.  Most of the time, I felt too upset to share anything and when I wasn’t too upset, I was too angry. When I wasn’t angry I was mostly confused and scrambled thoughts do not make for a good blog post.

My weeks have been filled with doctors appointments. Who knew you would have to see three different doctors a week… I’ve had so much blood drawn I can’t possibly have any left. Not to mention a MRI that lasted more then an hour, that actually made me dizzy, sick and triggered a migraine that would last days. I’ve already missed more work then I thought I would have and this is all PRE-opperation prep work. I can’t even bare to think about what lies ahead…

Just kidding, because today was my pre-op appointment where they went over in detail about the breathing tube that will be stuck down my throat after they sedate me and something about a drainage tube that will be sticking out my neck post-op that will be removed while I’m awake before I leave the hospital 3-4 days after surgery… Needless to say I don’t want to think about any of this right now.

I also saw an endocrineologist, for those of you who don’t know what that is my good friend google provided you with the definition that I attached to the bottom of this post. He will be the one prescribing me my hormone replacement medication. He also happens to be the one who is going to give me the radio iodine that will rid me of whatever cancer tissue might be left in my body post surgery. I had that appointment on March 17th. Now up till that day, I was under the impression the radio iodine wasn’t that bad and maybe, in comparison to other things, it’s not, but to me that trigger more fear then finding out I actually had cancer. Once I’m on the radio iodine I pretty much have to avoid human contact for 48 hours because I’m a danger to the people around me. Awesome. Beyond that I won’t be able to come into contact with children or pregnant woman for 13 days… He gave me a stack of information that I have yet to look through out of fear.

To say I’m stressed is an understatement.. The cancer causes a cough that just won’t quit. It also causes my body to become quite sore with speratic sharp pain that will course through my body without warning. When you add the symptoms of stress to the symptoms of cancer you just get a recipe for disaster. I just want to sleep until the stress is gone but when I wake up the stress of not being productive in the little time I have before surgery just triggers everything all over again. When I fight through the pain, by 4pm I feel like I’ve run a marathon and I just don’t have the energy for anything else. Today I drank two medium coffees before 12:30 and I’ll be asleep by the time this finally posts… But, one week from tomorrow, I’ll be showing up to Lowell General to check in for surgery. March 31st, 2016 will start my road to recovery and becoming totally cancer free. They will remove my entire thyroid as well as all infected lymphnodes which appear to only be on the right side of my neck. They will make a 4-5 inch incision across my neck (so if y’all have scarfs you want to send my way that would be much apperciated) then they will sew my head back on and bring me back to life while they spend the next 3-4 days monitoring my progress before sending me home to recover in peace…

I can probably have visitors and if I’m awake and consious I’ll have my phone. Thanks for all the support I’ve been receiving. I don’t know what I would do with out it. ❤️

Xoxo,

Ashley

What is an Endocrinologist?

Endocrinologists are specially trained physicians who diagnose diseases related to the glands. The diseases they are trained to treat often affect other parts of the body beyond glands. While primary care doctors know a lot about the human body, for diseases and conditions directly related to glands they will usually send a patient to an endocrinologist.

What Does an Endocrinologist Do?

The glands in a person’s body release hormones. Endocrinologists treat people who suffer from hormonal imbalances, typically from glands in the endocrine system. The overall goal of treatment is to restore the normal balance of hormones found in a patient’s body. Some of the more common conditions treated by endocrinologists include:

Menopause

Diabetes

Metabolic disorders

Lack of growth

Osteoporosis

Thyroid diseases

Cancers of the endocrine glands

Over- or under-production of hormones

Cholesterol disorders

Hypertension

Infertility

Most of the work performed by an endocrinologist serves as the basis for ongoing research. Some endocrinologists work solely as research physicians. The goal of the research is to come up with new ways to better treat hormonal imbalances, including the development of new drugs.

Leave a Reply

